Loneliness – 5 Tips

sky-man-person-night-landscape

Hi everyone! I’m back for another thoughtful Thursday! I haven’t done one of these since July! And, before I move on, I want to let you know that I wrote a post yesterday updating y’all on what’s going on with the blog, but it’s saying that I wrote it two weeks ago. I don’t know what’s going on. Read it here.

 

Today I’m going to be talking about loneliness. I’ve been wanting to address it for a little while. It’s something I can relate to, and want to share.

 

A week or so ago, I was scrolling through Instagram, and I saw a picture saying, “feelings the signs experience most often.” Now, I don’t believe in astrology and horoscopes, but I do find them entertaining. So, I looked through the list to find my sign, Sagittarius. According to this person, the feeling that a Sagittarius experiences the most is isolation. I had never really thought about it before, but when I did, I agreed with it. I do feel loneliness. Especially this time of year when I am off of school a lot.

You see, I am extremely extroverted. I love being around people. It fuels me. People make me happy. So, when I am at home for two weeks and can’t see people in person, it makes me feel really lonely. Over thanksgiving break, my friends and I would Skype a lot, which helped, but it isn’t the same. Talking to people is amazing. But I need to be able to actually touch them.

So, the other night, I was laying in bed, and I felt really lonely. I missed people. Not just my friends, but everyone I see on a daily basis at school. I wanted to see them. But I couldn’t. It made me really anxious.

I’m not the only one who gets like this. I’m sure some of you guys do. I want to help both you and me.

There are lots of things you can do when you are feeling lonely. It all depends on who you are, because some things work for some people and not others, but here are some ideas.

 

  1. Take a walk

This is one of those ones that only works for some people. For me, it depends on the day. Sometimes, walks are amazing. The air, being able to think. But sometimes I wish I had someone with me so we could talk. Or at least a dog to walk so I wouldn’t be alone, which leads me to the next one.

2. Pets are great

Pets are great for cuddling, if that’s what you’re in the mood for, or playing, whatever suits you. If you have a pet, go pet your pet. If not, there is probably a service dog training program in your area that is open to volunteers.

3. Watch something funny/lighthearted

This one might be my favorite. Laughing and being fixed on what I’m watching gets my mind off of how I felt lonely. If you don’t know what to watch, the new season of Fuller House if really funny.

4. Get out

Just go somewhere. It doesn’t matter where. Go get coffee, swing on some swings. Surprise a friend and take them somewhere. Go see a movie. Just not a sad one.

5. Figure out why

Maybe you’re like me and just need to be around people. But try to figure out why you feel alone. If there’s someone you miss in particular, talk to them. And, you can always talk to me if you have no one else!

 

Thank you for reading! I hope you found some good tips here. And seriously, go watch the new season of Fuller House.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughtful Thursday

Leave a Reply

