Movie Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Hi again! Sorry it’s been so long since the movie came out before I posted this. I meant to post a while ago, but while I was working on this, it got deleted. I was really annoyed and didn’t feel like working on a post for while. But now I’m back! And it won’t disappear this time!

 

Back when the movie first came out, I went with my friend Rachel to see Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I really liked it. I thought it was really good. The acting was great, the soundtrack was great, and the story was great. The only complaint I have was how it differed from the book. But today, I’m talking about the movie as a movie.

 

A plot summary from IMDb:

When Jacob discovers clues to a mystery that stretches across time, he finds Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. But the danger deepens after he gets to know the residents and learns about their special powers.

So, the movie begins with a teenaged boy named Jacob who lives in South Florida. He has grown up with his grandpa telling him stories of monsters and the war. But, he eventually learned that these stories weren’t true. Or so he thought.

After a tragic accident, Jacob’s therapist urges him to visit the island his grandpa told him about as a child. When he gets to the island, it seems that his grandfather’s stories had been just that: stories. But then he is met by an invisible boy, a girl with flaming hands, and twins with strange masks on – just like grandpa had told him about.

Jacob is soon immersed in a world of peculiarities, time loops, and yes, monsters. Jacob needs to fight these monsters to save peculiars everywhere, including himself.

 

Like I said before, I really enjoyed this movie. I’ll go over some of the highlights.

 

  1. The Cast

tumblr_ng8i71bdtq1s01fsdo1_250tumblr_ng8i71bdtq1s01fsdo2_250

The crew did a great job casting this movie. Asa Butterfield is one of my favorite actors; I always love his movies. This one was no exception. And Eva Green was PERFECT as Miss Peregrine. The rest of the cast was exceptional as well. I couldn’t have picked anyone better.

2. The Costumes

emma-bloom-miss-peregrines-home-for-peculiar-children-39876214-120-120olive-abroholos-elephanta-miss-peregrines-home-for-peculiar-children-39876210-120-120miss-alma-lefay-peregrine-miss-peregrines-home-for-peculiar-children-39876221-120-120barron-miss-peregrines-home-for-peculiar-children-39876191-120-120https3a2f2fblueprint-api-production-s3-amazonaws-com2fuploads2fcard2fimage2f1972112fenoch

The costumes in this movie were AMAZING. They fit perfectly with the time period. They matched the characters’ personalities. The twins’ were straight. out. of. the. book. I especially loved the costume of Miss Peregrine. They incorporated the elements of the bird into her outfit, and it looked awesome at the same time.

3. The Set

37

The set of this movie was beautiful. The house, outside and in, the grounds, and everything else, were masterfully put together. They would be very fun to visit.

4. The Music

4-1

The music, like everything else I’ve mentioned so far, was superb. I loved the score, and the end credits song has become one of my favorite songs.

5. The Plot Elements

n5cmkptfkuo8wumtmacb

A.K.A. the story. Oh my gosh you guys, the story is SO good. The peculiarities were really cool. Each and every one. Especially Miss Peregrine. The way she could turn into a bird and turn back time was awesome. Speaking of turning back time, the element of the time loops was really great. The way they worked and everything. Oh my goodness. I could go on all day.

 

Things to keep in mind:

  • This is a Tim Burton movie, so there are scenes and images that could be considered disturbing or scary. It’s not good for younger children. It is also violent, but not terribly gory:

miss-peregrines-1458048194 See what I mean?

  • There is also a fair amount of language. Jake lies to his father often.
  • In short, it lives up to its PG13 rating.
  • I would also recommend to read the PluggedIn review.
  • Go see the movie!

 

That’s all I have for you guys today! I hope you liked it. If you’ve seen the movie, let me know what you thought of it! Also, big clap for me for finally using gifs!tumblr_lme7z9imgt1qii6tmo1_500

Thanks for reading!

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Favorites, Fortuitous Friday, Movies, Reviews

Leave a Reply

