Superhero Movie Spring Fling

image

I’m back! I know that lately, it’s been pretty normal of me to skip a week out of how busy I am, but last week was different. Believe me, I wanted to post. But I was at Scripture Memory Camp. The same one I went to last summer. And this year was even better than last year! I’d seriously encourage anyone and everyone to go to that camp. But more on that later.

I am here today to talk about what I like to call, the “Superhero Movie Spring Fling.” Throughout the past couple of months, we could only go a month or so before a new superhero movie came out. Which was awesome! So now that the spring run of hero movies is over, I’d like to give you all a recap. Don’t worry, I won’t spoil anything.

So the three movies that this “spring fling” consists of are: Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, Captain America: Civil War, and X-Men: Apocalypse. And contrary to what others may or may not think, I thought all three of them were terrific. Let’s go into a little more depth.

1. Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice

image

A summary: Fearing that the actions of Superman are left unchecked, Batman takes on the Man of Steel, while the world wrestles with what kind of a hero it really needs.
I think this movie was the worst critically acclaimed of the three. And there was a fair share of fans who didn’t like it either. I guess I can understand their complaints, but I liked the movie. Maybe things were off with the comics, but the movie on its own was a good movie. It was great. I know that it’s supposed to be based off the comics, and maybe the director screwed up on that part, but like I said, the movie itself is a good movie. It’s exciting, has good characters, and a pretty good storyline. And it had an AMAZING soundtrack.

2. Captain America: Civil War

image

A summary: Political interference in the Avengers’ activities causes a rift between former allies Captain America and Iron Man.
I’m not sure what the critics said about this one. I thought it was pretty good, but it could have been better. I heard people saying it was the best Marvel movie, but I can’t agree with that. I didn’t really like the ending. Like I said before, it could have been better. I don’t want to spoil anything, so I can’t go into depth. I’ll just say that there were a lot of unresolved issues, and it felt like the bad guy won. And misunderstanding seemed to fuel the story. I have to say, I LOVED Spider-Man, though. I really liked most of the characters. If the ending had been a bit different, this movie could have been the best out of the three.

3. X-Men: Apocalypse

image

A summary: With the emergence of the world’s first mutant, Apocalypse, the X-Men must unite to defeat his extinction level plan.
All right folks. Give me a moment of silence for this one. And then go punch a critic in the face. The critics gave this movie relatively low reviews. Well you know what? I say that’s bull HONKERY. This movie was AMAZING. For me, it’s easily the best X-Men/Marvel/Superhero movie yet. I LOVED it. I can’t see what the critics problem was with it. First I want to brag on the characters. So, Quicksilver. He was as awesome as ever. His “running-so-fast-everything-else-is-in-slow-motion-so-he-can-comically-save-the-world-by-throwing-people-around” scene was even better this time. And of course, he has great taste in music. Next I want to mention Nightcrawler. This guy was my favorite. I’m not sure what it is about him, but he was just great. He’s German, trying to adjust to America, then all of a sudden is in a war. He was funny, had a great accent, was much better than the original nightcrawler, et cetera. I could go on and on. Really, all of the re-cast characters did a great job. Storm, Angel, Cyclops, especially Jean Grey. The story of this movie was awesome too. The way everything unfolded, unlikely relationships, the whole enchilada. It was awesome. And unlike the other two movies I just talked about, the ending was great as well. 10/10.

If any of you haven’t seen any of these yet, I strongly encourage you to do so. They were all great. Now it’s time to prepare for the next phase of “superhero” movies, beginning with Suicide Squad. Or if it’s just movies we’re looking forward too in general, the next one is probably Star Trek: Beyond.

Thanks for stopping by! I’ll be back soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Favorites, Love, Reviews, Summer, Talkative Tuesday

Leave a Reply

