Galatians

You know how when you’re recovering from a cold, and your nose isn’t runny anymore and it’s all in your throat now? That’s what I’m going through right now. I’m gonna be clearing my throat every three second today.

Anyway!

Google morning! Today I’ll be sharing a couple of verses from Galatians.

First Verse:
For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.
Galatians 1:10 ESV
Are you seeking the approval of man, or God? Probably more of the former. And I’m guilty to. I sometimes dress a certain way or something like that because I want approval from people around me. It’s okay in small amounts, but you should be dressing how you dress to one: express your own style, and two: honor God. What God thinks of you is all that matters in the long run. I know it’s hard. People will ridicule you. But eventually, those people will be gone. Only God lasts forever. As quoted from God’s Not Dead 2: “I’d rather stand with God and be judged by the world, than stand with the world and be judged by God.” After all, God’s judgement is a heck of a lot scarier than people’s judgement. So just hang in there, and the trial will pass. And you’ll find yourself stronger than before. Be a true servent of Christ and please him with all that you do.

Second Verse:
yet we know that a person is not justified by works of the law but through faith in Jesus Christ, so we also have believed in Christ Jesus, in order to be justified by faith in Christ and not by works of the law, because by works of the law no one will be justified.
Galatians 2:16 ESV
Just branching off of the first verse, nothing can justify us except for God. Here he states the “works of the law” meaning doing good works and such. That’s great, but it doesn’t send us to heaven or even give us favor in God’s sight. He loves everyone equally. It’s believing in him and glorifying him that matters.

Third Verse:
I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.
Galatians 2:20 ESV
The first time I really read this last verse was when my friend faith showed it to me about a year ago. When I saw it, it struck a chord in me. Whenever someone asked me if I was a Christian, I would say yes. And I was. But I never thought of it that blatantly. I knew that my old self was cast away. But it turned out to be more than that. My old self had been crucified. And unlike Jesus, I can’t exactly rise from the dead. He became the only one left. Even though I’m saved, I still sin, but I’m done trying to deal with it on my own. Like Gal. 2:16 said, only God can justify me. And he wants to. He loves me and died for me, and I need to accept it and let him do his work. He loves everyone.

So, nibble on these thoughts today. What do you think about these verses?

Thanks for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed my return of the Thoughtful Thursday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Love, Thoughtful Thursday

Leave a Reply

