The Hidden Oracle Book Review

image

Hey guys! Welcome back to Concerning Megan. If y’all couldn’t tell from my last Wordless Wednesday, I ordered and read the new book by Rick Riordan about two weeks ago. And I have to say, it was spectacular. So of course, I HAVE to write a review.

But first, a summary(taken from amazon.com):

How do you punish an immortal? 

By making him human. 

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disoriented, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favor. 

But Apollo has many enemies-gods, monsters, and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood. 

Doesn’t that sound exciting?! It was. >:-)

First I’m going to talk about what I liked.
First, I love that Uncle Rick is continuing the Percy Jackson story world. But, I mean, he kind of had to after the way he ended The Blood of Olympus… I’m still salty about that. But back in topic! I really liked the way he not only tied in the mythology, but also actual Roman history. It was pretty clever. And Meg was cool too. Her powers were great. One of my favorite things was that a bunch of the old characters were back. The ending was pretty satisfying as well.

Now, onto some things I didn’t like.
Although some of the old characters were back, not all of them were. A ton of them were at school or something because it was in the winter. And Percy was in it, but only a few chapters. I also didn’t like the situation between Nico and Will. But I won’t say anything else about that. It also felt short after how long the Heroes of Olympus books were.

So, now a few final thoughts. If you want to read this book, you need to have read the other Percy Jackson books first to understand it all. Luckily, I had read them all and was able to read this book the day it came out.

I think The Hidden Oracle was a pretty great book. It kept my interest throughout the whole story. The new characters, as well as old ones brought back, were great. I just really liked it. But I have a hunch that the second one will be even better.

If you’ve read the other books in the PJO world, I would really encourage you to read this one. Oh, and by the way, all of the chapter titles are haikus. Yes, the funny chapter titles are back!!!

                             ***

So, my review wasn’t terribly long, but I wanted to share some of my opinions from the new book. I hope y’all enjoyed. Be back soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Reviews, Talkative Tuesday

Leave a Reply

