David

Welcome back to Thoughtful Thursdays! Today I’ve decided to talk a little about David.

David was a man after God’s own heart. But, that does not at all mean he was perfect.

David sinned like the rest of us. He lied, he killed, and he cheated on his wife. But despite these faults, God forgave him and even placed him in the family line of Jesus.

David was also a bit misunderstood. For one, Saul chases after him for years to prevent him from becoming King. David never felt any contempt for his King, though. He never wanted to take over Saul’s position, but God told him to.
Second, people have made some assumptions about David over the years that aren’t necessarily true. For instance, they say David was small. The Bible never says David was small, it only says he was the youngest. So, it is reasonable to think that he was not as mighty as his older brothers, but he was still a man. Not a baby like in veggietales. And remember when he came home from battle and supposedly fldanced naked in the streets? He wasn’t naked. He was wearing a robe, maybe without anything underneath, but still a robe. His wife wasn’t mad at him for being naked, but for dancing ridiculously enough to embarrass her.

So yes, David was a normal human like the rest of us. He messed up l, to be sure, but God forgave him. Just like He does for everyone who asks. Has God forgiven you?

Now onto my next reading challenge.

image

My fave classic book. Well, I’ve read quite a few classics. I can’t say that I’ve liked all of them, or even most of them. I love Lord of the Rings and Narnia. I also liked Little Women a lot. But if I had to choose…

I think I’ll go with little women as I already listed Lord of the Rings as my favorite overall, and Narnia isn’t really on the same level.

So, yeah. Good afternoon!

~Megan497

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Challenge, Favorites, Thoughtful Thursday

Leave a Reply

