Poor Girl, Rich Talent Sneak Peek #4

wpid-screenshot_2015-08-14-10-11-19-1.pngTime for another sneak peek! This is the second-to-last sneak peek for Poor Girl, Rich Talent. Number five will be posted next Friday.

I know I usually post these more spread out, but I have finished writing the book so we don’t have to wait for me to catch up anymore! Of course, it still needs editing and rewriting, but the first draft is done!

Remember to comment edits, suggestions, thoughts, ect. I love feedback! Here are the links to #1, #2, and #3. #1 is an excerpt from chapter one, #2 comes from chapter five, #3 from ten, and this one (#4) comes from chapter fifteen.

On to the sneak peek!

I reached my arms up and stretched. How good it felt to finally be able to do that! I dropped my arms and scratched the back of my neck. Now that I had gotten of the previously foreboding topic, a different thought crossed my mind.

I haven’t seen the citizens in a while. I stood up and walked down to the kitchen, where I found my mother.

“Ah! Bobbi,” she said. “I was hoping you might be able to help me with dinner.”

“Um, sure,” I replied. ‘What do you need me to do?”

“Could you mix the salad dressing? I’m making chicken-caesar tonight.”

“Sure.” I crossed the room and poured the ingredients into a bowl. I decided to deliver my idea during the meal.

* * *

 

My mother, father, and I sat down to bowls of chopped chicken, lettuce, and croutons. We joined hands and lifted up a quick prayer of thanks, then dug in.

I swallowed a piece of chicken and then addressed my parents. “So, you know how Tina thought up that plan back before I hurt my arm?”

My parents simply nodded.

“I thought that we might be able to start working on that now.”

Mom spoke up first. “I know you like pleasing the people, but your injuring provided an opportunity for us. Why don’t we lay low for a while? Just don’t return to your performances.”

“But we have laid low for quite some time now! Nobody has come around, but they will once I fully recover. Everything will go back to the way it was before.”

My dad interjected. “If we do go through with the plan, you’ll have to wait before you actually perform. You will also have to announce it in some way and make sure you’re allowed.”

“I think I’ll be able to work things out. Don’t worry.”

* * *

 

I arrived at the park an hour before the scheduled time of my speech. A few men were hard at work setting up chairs for my audience. I chuckled. If the turnout was anything like my usual performances, many people would end up standing.

I stepped up onto the small platform where I would be performing. I adjusted the microphone to the right height and sat on the chair waiting behind me. I occupied myself in various ways for maybe half an hour. Before long, people began to enter the sunny glade from all directions.

The time finally came for me to present my speech. I tapped the microphone to silence the murmuring crowd and began.

Thanks for reading!

2 Comments

Filed under Fortuitous Friday, My Books, Sneak Peek

2 responses to “Poor Girl, Rich Talent Sneak Peek #4

  1. I think it may need a little more detail. Overall, it was great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

