Poor Girl, Rich Talent Sneak Peek #3

image

Hello all! Sorry for missing so many posts… again. I actually have a legitimate reason this time. You see, I write my posts with the WordPress app on my phone. My phone had a little issue, so we had to send it in to be fixed. It is back now, so I can get back to posting!! Yay!!

Anyway, today is Sneak Peek day. If you haven’t read the first two, please do! You can find the first one here and the second one here.

Make sure to comment edits and such! I love your opinions! On to the Sneak Peek.

At least 50 people stood crowded inside my yard and on the road in front of it. As soon as they saw me, they all began to cheer. I stopped in my tracks. I was afraid that everyone might rush over to me, but all they did was beckon for me to come to them.

            My eyes widened to an immeasurable size and my entire body trembled. A cold sweat slithered down my spine. This was worse than my speech; much worse. I was able to prepare for the presentation. For this though, I had but a moment’s notice. I had no idea what to do next.

            I wiped my sweaty palms on my thighs and took a step forward. A few of the spectators whooped. As I shuffled closer to the fence gate, I was barraged with a monsoon of indecipherable questions and comments. People began shouting, even those directly beside me. My ears rang with the chaos of it all.

            My mother must have been able to tell by the noise that I had arrived. She snuck up behind me and grabbed my wrist. I batted her away, thinking she was just another bystander. Mom told me who she was by seizing my chin with her free hand and bringing my eyes to face hers. A wave of relieve washed over me when I saw the sparkling emerald irises. I followed the pull on my wrist.

            My mom led me around the back of our burnt orange house, shoving people out of her way as she stomped across the yard. When she reached her destination, my mother crouched to the ground and opened the rusty hatch to the cellar. She jumped into the gaping hole, pulled my in after her, and slammed the creaky door shut.

            “What’s going on?” I asked one I had gathered my bearings. “Why is everyone here?”

            “I thought you would know!”

            I retraced my steps to when David had barged into the lunchroom. That was it! Everyone read the newspaper and came flocking to my house to see me in person.

            After a brief pause, I said “I think I have it figured out. A copy of my speech and my interview were both somehow given to the newspaper. They printed them in today’s issue and I guess everyone wanted to come see me for themselves.”

            Mom shook her head. “Why does this have to happen to us?”

            “I don’t know why bad things have to happen, but they do. We just have to do the best we can with God’s help to push through them. Just remember that we can do all things through Christ who gives us strength.” Although short, my little speech had a deep impact on both my mother and me

            “Well then,” my mom set a hand on the cold, dirt floor, “what are we going to do? I mean, my advice hasn’t gotten us anywhere so far, so maybe we should let you decide this time.”

            My lips stretched into a smile. My mother was loosening up. “All right then. I think for now, I should try to talk to the people out there. If they don’t stop their rioting, then I’ll have to think of something else.”

            “Are you sure you can do it?” Mom laid a hand on my shoulder.

            “Don’t worry,” I winked. “I’ll be fine. I’m good at coming up with stuff on the spot.”

Thanks for reading!

3 Comments

Filed under Fortuitous Friday, My Books, Sneak Peek

3 responses to “Poor Girl, Rich Talent Sneak Peek #3

  1. Pingback: Poor Girl, Rich Talent Sneak Peek #4 | Concerning Megan

Leave a Reply

